tech
How to turn off Instagram's new Instants feature and retract photos you accidentally shared
While the Meta-owned social network billed Instants as a new format to share real-life moments as they’re happening, many users are looking for a way to turn off the feature, especially those who have accidentally sent images to others, not fully understanding how the feature works.

TL;DR
- Instagram's new "Instants" feature allows for sharing disappearing photos.
- By default, photos taken with Instants are automatically sent to all friends.
- Users can accidentally share photos without fully understanding the feature.
- To turn off Instants, navigate to Profile > Settings > Content Preferences > Hide Instants in Inbox.
- Alternatively, hold down the Instants pile in the inbox and swipe right to temporarily stop receiving them.
- An "Undo" option appears immediately after sending an Instant to retract the photo.
- Photos can also be unsent by going to the archive and deleting them before they are viewed.